New Year, new goals.

Last night I attended a small show opening in my neighbourhood, put on by one of my most wonderful friends, Andrea. The artwork was so diverse and so rich and so satisfying to take in and consider: so many great pieces by so many local, talented artists. It made me so proud to be a part of it all. Two of my three cycling paintings sold before the show officially opened and the third sold within the first hour of the show. I can’t tell you how humbled and proud I am of that: content with the fact that there is something in my work that someone else can relate to — or even that they like. It’s one thing to make art, to enjoy the process, to complete it and it’s yet another to have someone else feel the same. In a strange way, it makes me feel connected to the rest of the world.

I am overwhelmed with end of the year tasks right now but I am dreaming of a small solo show in the spring, which my good friend suggested while we labeled the artwork hours before the show opened. What a challenging and rewarding goal to plan and aim towards. I am deeply excited about the prospect and even more excited about the new year and all the goals I hope to reach for myself or enjoy working towards. Inspired by the show last night, I have so many new ideas for artwork and directions I want to explore. Something new is in the works and I am completely adrenalized!

Leave a Reply

