Steady progress at the start of a new year.

Fifteen days into the new year and I am happy with the creative painting progress I’ve already made. I finished another painting (more of my two dimensional flat style) and have begun a second in the cycling series I started, for a show in mid March. This is my current driving force and I am still excited and pumped about showing my work in the little cyclery in my neighbourhood. I’m still exploring themes revolving around Alberto Contador and his nickname: El Pistolero. I’ve transferred my final sketch to canvas and am starting the painting today. It’s later in the day than I would like but sometimes it takes me some time to get comfortable with my final sketch and my concept and my choice of colours so I have to paint when the mood strikes me. It takes me a while to get to the point of painting. I have to work everything out in my head before I am ready to paint. I think that’s just part of being a graphic designer: needing to work it out and visualize it before I begin to paint it. It’s part of the process and as I stated before, I love the process. Sometimes I even love it more than the finished piece!

I’ve reflected a lot in the past fifteen days since the new year has begun and I have really thought about what’s most important in my life. I’ve decided to give up some of the responsibilities of my job at work so that I can concentrate more on my pass-times and things I love doing outside of my 9 to 5 day: like painting. Life is short. Might as well spend it doing things you love. Right?

Leave a Reply

