Stop for a Coffee.

Well, I’ve just varnished and framed my last few paintings for my show opening tomorrow evening. Part of me wants to keep painting late into the evening tonight, do an all-nighter, bang out a few more ideas… explore a few more themes… but I’m tired. I’m physically tired of painting and I’m emotionally tired of putting so much effort into each piece. Besides, I think 25 paintings are a good amount to show. Not too much and certainly enough to have people wanting to see more. I’m pleased.

Over the past 2 months, I’ve managed to lose 5 pounds. I’ve just forgotten to eat or haven’t been interested. This hasn’t felt so good. My house is also a bit of a disaster area. I have to face up to real life at some point: pay some bills, do some laundry, vacuum and shop for some groceries. (My family has suffered enough at this point and I can only expect them to do so much).

I had a great radio interview yesterday with CHUO 89.1, which was nerve-wracking and interesting too (the inner workings of a small station are incredible and I have so much respect for DJs now!) The EMC Ottawa West interviewed me last week and Kristy Strauss had a wonderful article on me and my show in today’s issue. I’ve had exposure through the Ottawa Bike Club and OpenFile and Algonquin has been proudly tweeting about my show. Gah, I hope I don’t let everybody down with my work — such build up!

In the end, I am very proud of my hard work, steadfastness and dedication to this painting show. I see a great improvement in my painting over the past weeks: more fluid lines, fun subject matter. It’s been such a great project and I am really looking forward to my next theme and planning my next show.

4StopsforCoffees

Series of 4 paintings (one round canvas) entitled Stop for a Coffee series, which I intend to do right now.

Leave a Reply

