If we all did the things we are capable of, we would astound ourselves.

Okay. I woke up very early this morning and fussed around printing off labels for the paintings, prices, a list for Alistair (who owns the Cyclelogik store) and then organized all the paintings, found the hammer, nails, tape and various other bits, walked the dog, and rushed out the door.

Ian R. showed up 15 minutes into the ominous task of hanging the work (I couldn’t believe how daunting it was at first!) and dropped off the painting he bought from me of the headless Contador. Even though it’s sold, I wanted to include the painting in the show since it had meant to be part of it from the onset. Ian looked over the work, we chatted, he ordered a coffee and he left for work. I was happy he had seen everything and said it looked good. That reassured me.

My friend Andrea S. showed up shortly after that. (I didn’t expect her to show up, actually, since she had her vernissage last night at the HPH. It was a great night with a huge turnout and lots of accolades for her wonderful work. I am so proud of her and the work that she completed. So proud to be her friend). Anyhow, she ordered coffee, we chatted and she watched me hang the paintings, lending a hand here and there. It was good to have her there with me: comforting and encouraging. She said it all looked great and I was pleased with how the paintings filled one wall so perfectly and easily. I was done quickly and packed up and left to run errands.

I bought new shoes. Yes, of course I needed them. Now, I do have a new rule with shoes. One new pair in, one-two old pairs out. I bought two pairs in the past two weeks so I am getting rid of 5 pairs to compensate. Look, I have close to 80 pairs of shoes. I have to do this.

Now, I’m getting ready to head out for an early dinner. Looking forward to my first solo show. I feel so grown-up and proud, so happy for achieving this milestone. I’m blown away by the exposure, the coverage online, the retweets, the shares, the positive vibes. My friends have been so supportive and encouraging and I am just so humbled by every single one of them. Their messages have been sweet and kind and caring. I’m looking forward to seeing some of my friends tonight and making new ones. I’m looking forward to a new challenge. I feel like this is the start of a push in new directions and I am excited!

InvitationPrinted

Leave a Reply

