I’m a great believer in luck, and I find the harder I work the more I have of it.

I love this quote. It’s by Thomas Jefferson, 3rd President of the United States. It’s one of those quotes that I can really relate to. I have always been a creative person and I have always worked hard. I sometimes think that being a creative person is part privilege and part curse. I cannot not create. For as far back as I can remember, I have always been creative: drawing on walls, table tops, scraps of paper, scraps of wood, under chairs and always making things. To add to this, I also believe that anything that is worth doing, is worth doing well. So I am doubly blessed & cursed.

I think that this need to create things combined with my fear of not living a useful life (more on that later), drives me forward and pushes me to explore, challenge myself and grow artistically. I love to be challenged. I love to learn and try new things and experiment. Every step I take, good or bad, teaches me something and helps me to grow as an artist and as a person. And isn’t that what life is for? To learn things and grow as a person and maybe extend a hand to others along the way? I guess, in part, that’s why I teach. I try to lead (my students) by example and I try to help others see what they are good at and what their gifts are and help them forward. Of course, it helps if they are willing participants and feel the same way I do about luck and hard work.

Yesterday I took down all of my paintings on display at Cyclelogik. I sold 3 pieces there and I am pleased that I did. Alistair Scott was so kind to let me hang my work there and manage the sales. Late last night, I rehung my cycle art and some collage work on Louisa street for a House Party that is taking place tomorrow night. It’s an amazing opportunity to show off my work to a lot of local people who may not have had the chance to see it while on display at the cycle shop. The house party is also a great opportunity to meet some new people and make some new connections. I mean, you never know who you’ll meet, right? The owner of the house and host of the party, Dean, is an amazing, open, spiritual person. I am so touched that he would consider my work and allow me to hang it in his house. I should mention it looks great in his little house, too!

Tonight I was also notified that one of my paintings has been selected by Timeraiser Ottawa. (Look them up if you are curious, amazing concept and organization). I heard about this great opportunity through my friend Daniel M., a new friend and a really great local artist who I really admire. His work was chosen, as well, although I am hardly surprised. I am thrilled, beyond measure, to have one of my pieces selected. I worked hard on this last batch of cycle-themed paintings and it is really gratifying to see something come of my hard work and determination. It helps justify the late nights & love that I have put into my work.

I honestly feel like a very lucky person. I feel like hard work (eventually) pays off.

F_TheList

Chosen work by TimeRaiser Ottawa.

Leave a Reply

