If you want to live a happy life, tie it to a goal, not to people or things.

With the onset of Fall and the crisp cool weather, I am beginning to plan my next painting series. I’m actually giddy with excitement over a new series and feel like I have a great secret that I am struggling to hold on to. It’s really not that this new series is any big secret. It’s just a new genre and something that is meaningful to me because I invested so much of my summer in helping my daughter with her horse back riding competitions. I have amassed quite the photo collection and will now use all these inspirational photos and videos to paint a story of our summer together. I’ve already purchased some canvases and have made a list of paints I need to restock up on. I’ve also made a list of galleries I want to approach in the new year with the beginnings of my series. I’ve never been so motivated before to paint. I am really excited to start. I have to thank my friend Andrea S. for this. She has been a driving force in my rediscovery of how much I love painting and in motivating me to push myself. I mean, the solo show at Cyclelogik really was her idea and I am really grateful for her seemingly endless support.

Today is Canadian Thanksgiving Monday. I am so unbelievably grateful for my life, for my beautiful and talented daughters, for the loving and supportive husband I have, for my home, my job, my inspirational friends and for all the things I am so lucky to be a part of. I don’t know what I did in my last life to deserve so much in this life but I sincerely hope I am using my gifts wisely and hopefully doing a good job of paying it all forward.

RoundCorner
One thought on “If you want to live a happy life, tie it to a goal, not to people or things.

  1. I love this! I feel the same way and have been keeping myself conscious of my gratitude for the life I have. Can’t wait to see your new series!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

