Some people grumble that roses have thorns; I am grateful that thorns have roses.

I can’t believe December is upon us. It seems like I blinked and November came and went. I had planned to use November wisely, to paint and sew and make things and get new work started. Instead, I ended up making some life altering decisions at the end of October and then spent November trying to adjust to all the changes going on. Even though some changes are just lateral ones, and good for you, they take so darn much out of you that you actually need some time to recover from them. That’s what my November was for, I guess.

The start of December has me reconnecting with friends; recommitting to the gym, healthy eating and taking care of myself; taking time to appreciate what I have, practicing grattitude & awareness and being present in my life. I tend to live life at warp speed and I don’t take enough time to do the last few things I listed often enough. I was really reminded of this a few nights ago when I went to SAW Gallery’s annual fundraiser, entitled SKETCH. It was a one-evening event where artists donated artwork to the artist-run gallery and then the art was sold to the public with proceeds going toward the gallery. Both my daughter Katrin and I donated one painting apiece. We attended the event Friday night and were witness to Katrin’s art piece being picked up by two women, who were trying to decide who wanted it more. As they took it to the counter to pay for it, I commented that they had chosen “a fantastic piece” and one woman asked Katrin if it was her art and when she said it was, the woman turned to me and said, “you’re biased!” Indeed, I am. Whole-heartedly.

Katrin was beyond happy that they purchased her art and was humbly beaming, her hands up to her reddened face. I can honestly say that that moment was one of the proudest moments of my life as a mother. A loving, heart-warming moment that I cannot put into words. The sheer joy, admiration, love and pride I felt for the young woman standing beside me, at that moment, was completely overwhelming — to the point of tears that I had to blink away. It was beautiful and I was so glad that we had gone to the event together and been there early enough to witness the purchase. Shortly after, as we made our way through the crowd of people to leave, passing my colourful landscape still up on the wall for sale, I put my arm around my daughter and congratulated her. I am so lucky to live the life I lead and give thanks, every day, for all the people and things that make my life so rich.

SawStrip

My gorgeous daughter, Katrin; Her painting prior to selling; My painting on our way out.

Leave a Reply

